Wersja polska | Polish version

    Attended by 80 pianists from 28 countries

    The jury assessed the candidates on a scale of 1-25 points. The second stage was reached by 24 participants in an order decided by the average of points won in the first stage. The sum of the average points obtained in the first and second stages was used to admit 12 pianists to the third stage. The sequence of prizes was decided on the basis of the sum of the average points won in all three stages.

The prizes were awarded in the following order:


Garrick Ohlsson (USA)


Mitsuko Uchida (Japan)


Piotr Paleczny (Poland)


Eugene Indjic (USA)


Natalya Gavrilova (USSR)


Janusz Olejniczak (Poland)

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance of the mazurkas went to Garrick Ohlsson.

The Frederick Chopin Society Prize for the best performance of a polonaise was awarded to Piotr Paleczny.

Honourable mention:

Emanuel Ax (USA), Alain Neveux (France), Ikuko Endo (Japan), Karol Nicze (Poland), Ivan Klansky (Czechoslovakia)

Previous page | Table of Contents | Life | Works | Chopin Tradition | Next page