Wersja polska | Polish version

    Attended by 76 pianists from 30 countries

    The jury assessed the performances on a scale of 1-25 points. It allowed 36 candidates into the second stage in the order of the number of points obtained. The third stage was reached by 12 pianists. Six candidates for the main prizes played in the finale in a sequence decided by the points won in the third stage. The order of the prize winners was decided upon the basis of the sum total of the average of the points gained in all three stages as well as the finale.

The prizes were awarded in the following order:


Martha Argerich (Argentina)


Arthur Moreira-Lima (Brazil)


Marta Sosinska (Poland)


Hiroko Nakamura (Japan)


Edward Auer (USA)


Elzbieta Glabˇwna (Poland)

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance of the mazurkas went to Martha Argerich.

The Frederick Chopin Society Prize for the best performance of a polonaise was awarded to Marta Sosinska.

Honourable mention:

Marek Jablonski (Canada), Tamara Koloss (USSR), Wiktorya Postnikova (USSR), Blanka Uribe (Columbia), Lois Carole Pachucki (USA), Ewa Maria Zuk (Venezuela)

Previous page | Table of Contents | Life | Works | Chopin Tradition | Next page