Wersja polska | Polish version

    Attended by 77 pianists from 25 countries

    The jury assessed the artistic interpretation of each participant according to similar principles to those used in 1955. From this particular Competition onwards, separate points were given not only for the performance of the mazurkas but also for a polonaise which also had a special prize.

The prizes were awarded in the following order:


Maurizio Pollini (Italy)


Irina Zaritskaya (USSR)


Tania Achot-Haroutounian (Iran)


Li Min-Chan (People`s Republic of China)


Zinayda Ignatyeva (USSR)


Valeri Kastelsky (USSR)

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance of the mazurkas went to Irina Zaritskaya.

The Frederick Chopin Society Prize for the best performance of a polonaise was awarded to Irina Zaritskaya.

Honourable mention:

Alexander Slobodyanik (USSR), Jerzy Godziszewski (Poland), Józef Stompel (Poland), Michel Block (Mexico), Hitoshi Kobayashi (Japan), Reiya Silvonen (Finland)

Previous page | Table of Contents | Life | Works | Chopin Tradition | Next page