Wersja polska | Polish version

    Attended by 54 pianists from 14 countries

    The jury assessed participants of the Competition by using a scale of 1-25 points. A minimum of 18 points was needed to qualify for entry to the next stage of the Competition. The final sequence of the prize winners was determined by the total of points won in the second and third stages.

The prizes were awarded in the following order:

I (joint winners)

Bella Davidovich (USSR)

Halina Czerny- Stefanska (Poland)


Barbara Hesse-Bukowska (Poland)


Waldemar Maciszewski (Poland)


Georgi Muravlov (USSR)


Wladyslaw Kedra (Poland)


Ryszard Bakst (Poland)

VII Evgeni Malinin (USSR)
VIII Zbigniew Szymonowicz (Poland)
IX Tamara Guseva (USSR)
X Victor Mershanov (USSR)
XI Regina Smendzianka (Poland)
XII Tadeusz Zmudzinski (Poland)

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance of the mazurkas went to Halina Czerny-Stefanska

Previous page | Table of Contents | Life | Works | Chopin Tradition | Next page