Wersja polska | Polish version

    Attended by 110 pianists from 28 countries

    The jury assessed the perfomance of the candidates on a scale of 1-10 points in the first stage and 1- 25 points in the second and third stages. The results of the separate stages and the finale were determined exactly as for the eleventh Competition.

The prizes were awarded in the following order:

I not awarded

Kevin Kenner (USA)


Yukio Yokoyama (Japan)

IV (joint winners)

Corrado Rollero (Italy)

Margarita Shevchenko (Russia)

V (joint winners)

Anna Malikova (Russia)

Takako Takahashi (Japan)


Caroline Sageman (France)

The Polish Radio prize for the best perfomance of the mazurkas - not awarded.

The Frederick Chopin Society Prize for the best performance of a polonaise - Kevin Kenner and Wojciech Switala (Poland).

The National Philharmonic Prize for the best performance of a concerto - not awarded.

Honourable mention:

Koji Oikawa (Japan), Philippe Giusiano (France), Kyoko Tabe (Japan), Hiroshi Arimori (Japan).

Previous page | Table of Contents | Life | Works | Chopin Tradition | Next page